Skip to content

Online seminar! Developing materials for high-performance Solid Oxide Fuel Cells using SIMS

Thursday, May 19, 2022


9th June 2022 - 10:00 am CET
(London: 9am / New Delhi: 1:30pm / Beijing: 4pm / Seoul & Tokyo: 5pm)

Now available on demand 

Speaker: Dr. Katherine Develos-Bagarinao
Senior researcher at the Global Zero Emission Research Center, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST) in Tsukuba, Japan.

Solid oxide fuel cells (SOFCs) are novel devices used for the conversion of chemical energy directly into electrical energy with high efficiencies. SOFCs are currently being developed as viable sources of clean, reliable energy which can contribute towards reducing carbon emissions and other pollutants associated with the use of fossil fuels. To further accelerate the application of these devices, research efforts have been focused on developing innovative materials with high electrochemical performance and understanding the factors affecting long-term durability and stability.

This webinar will focus on the various aspects of SOFC research using SIMS as a primary characterization tool for the development of high-performance cathodes with improved oxygen surface exchange properties, probing the properties of surfaces and heterointerfaces, and elucidating mechanisms governing degradation behavior of SOFCs.

WATCH NOW