Skip to content

New webinar! Application of SIMS in Solar PV Research: The Role of Hydrogen in Crystalline Silicon Solar Cells

Friday, January 14, 2022

Phosphorus-doped polysilicon (poly-Si)/SiOx passivating contacts can dramatically reduce carrier recombination at the interface between metal contacts and silicon, achieving an excellent surface passivation, thus allowing high solar cell efficiencies. It has been widely reported that the in-diffusion of hydrogen in the poly-Si passivating contacts can further improve the passivation quality. Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry is used to investigate the correlation between the hydrogen amount in the poly-Si/SiOx structure and the surface passivation level.

In this webinar, Dr Di Kang will present results suggesting that, to achieve the highest passivation quality, an optimum amount of hydrogen surrounding the interfacial SiOx is needed, while insufficient or excess hydrogen can both lead to degradation of poly-Si passivation.

Click your preferred session to register:

> 26th January 2022 10pm CET

(New-York: 4pm / Los Angeles: 1pm)


REGISTER NOW


> 27th January 2022 10am CET

(London: 9am / New Delhi: 2:30pm / Beijing: 5pm / Seoul: 6pm / Tokyo: 6pm)


REGISTER NOW


About the presenter:
Postdoctoral research fellow at Australia National Uiversity, Dr Di Kang was awarded the best student presentation at IEEE PVSC and European PVSEC conferences in 2021, and 2020-2021 annual solar thesis prize. In her current research, she focuses on defects in industrial Si solar cells.

A live session with Dr. Di Kang and Dr. Rong Liu, Application Scientist at CAMECA will follow.